Hours – Newark Public Library

Hours

Library Hours and Holiday Closings

Services end 15 minutes before the stated closing time:
  • Only those already in line may check out materials when the Circulation Desk closes.
  • Computers and copiers are turned off.
Please note: there are reduced hours at Please click on the links for more details about hours.

Summer Hours

Fall/Winter Hours

2020 Holiday Closings

2019 Summer Hours May 27 – September 2

For more information, please call 973-733-7800

 

Main Library Branches
Monday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm Closed
Tuesday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am – 8:30 pm 1:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Friday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Saturday 9:30 am – 1:30 pm 9:30 am – 1:30 pm
Sunday Closed Closed

 

Fall/Winter Hours

2019/2020 Fall/Winter Hours – September 2nd through May 25th

Main Library Branches
Monday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm Closed
Tuesday 9:00 am – 8:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am – 8:30 pm 1:00 pm – 8:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am – 8:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Friday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm 9:30 am – 5:30 pm
Saturday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm 11:00 am – 3:00 pm
Sunday Closed Closed
Wednesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 20 Martin Luther King, Jr.’s Birthday (observed)
Wednesday, February 12 Lincoln’s Birthday
Monday, February 17 President’s Day
Friday, April 10 Good Friday
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day
Saturday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 7 Labor Day
Monday, October 12 Indigenous Peoples’ Day
Tuesday, November 3 Election Day
Wednesday, November 11 Veterans Day (observed)
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving
Thursday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day