About the Library

The Newark Public Library

Facing Washington Park, the historic Newark Public Library traces its beginnings to the Newark Library Association, which was formed in 1847. Forty years later, the people of Newark approved the founding of a Free Public Library. Learn More about the Library’s architecture and history.

Want to Get Involved? Join the Friends of the Newark Public Library or volunteer in your local Branch Location.

 

 


Our Mission

The Newark Public Library transforms lives and strengthens communities through innovative services, stimulating programs, and inspiring collections.


Our Vision

In serving the entire Newark community, the Newark Public Library will be a national model of innovation, collaboration, and service excellence.


Contact

Newark Public Library
5 Washington Street
P.O. Box 630
Newark, NJ 07101-0630
(973) 733-7784


Partnerships

The Library is a proud partner of the Newark City of Learning Collaborative and the Urban Libraries Council.

 


Board of Trustees

Dr. Timothy J. Crist, President

Ms. Trish Morris-Yamba, Vice President

Mr. Thomas Alrutz, Treasurer

Dr. Anasa Maat, Secretary

Mr. Jeremy Johnson – Alternate for Ras J. Baraka, Mayor
Mr. De’Shawn Wright – Alternate for Mr. Christopher Cerf, State District Superintendent, Newark Public Schools
Mr. Charles Auffant
Ms. Sandra King
Dr. Rosemary Steinbaum

Learn More

Library Board of Trustees 2018 Meeting Schedule

Tuesday, January 23, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, March 27, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, May 22, 5:00 pm
Wednesday, July 25, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, September 25, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, November 27, 5:00 pm

All meetings will be held in the 2nd Floor Board Room at the Main Library, 5 Washington Street, Newark.

 

 


Library Director

Jeffrey Trzeciak
(973) 733-7780 or
(973) 733-7758
director@npl.org

 

 

 


Leadership Team

Development
Nicole Butler
(973) 733-7735
nbutler@npl.org
Public Services
Heidi Cramer
(973) 733-7837
hcramer@npl.org
Planning, Facilities, Security, and Government Relations
George Wheatle Williams
(973) 733-5697 or 7793
gwilliams@npl.org
Human Resources
Leslie Colson
(973) 733-7740
lcolson@npl.org
Finance
Rodney Jefferson
(973) 733-4842
rjefferson@npl.org
Information Technology
Jorge Rodriguez
(973) 733-7796
jrodriguez@npl.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save