Frances E.W. Harper Literary Society of The Newark Public Library

Frances E.W. Harper Literary Society of harper_smThe Newark Public Library

Celebrating 29 years at the Newark Public Library, since 1987

Dorothea M. Moore, Chairperson

2016-2017 Literary Schedule

Monthly meetings will be held on the First Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noted, from September to June

James Brown African American Room, Main Library, 5 Washington Street

Saturday, September 10
11:00am – 12:00pm
Opening registration in the James Brown African-American Room
Wednesday, September 14
6:30pm
Film showing of Goin’ to Chicago by George King
Wednesday, October 5
6:30pm
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
Wednesday, November 2
6:30pm
King of the Cats: The Life and Times of Adam Clayton Powell, Jr. by Wil Haygood
Wednesday, December 7
6:30pm
Another Country by James Baldwin
January 2017
No Meeting Scheduled Happy New Year!
Wednesday, February 8, 2017
6:30pm
Celebrating Black History Month
The Disenfranchisement of the Black Vote: The Voting Rights Act in 2016
Speaker: Zayid Muhammad
Wednesday, March 1
6:30pm
Celebrating Women’s History Month
Wednesday, April 5
6:30pm
Celebrating National Poetry Month
Theme: The Voice of the Poets
Wednesday, May 3
6:30pm
The Power of Broke by Daymond John
Wednesday, June 7
6:30pm
Celebrating the Black Diaspora
Home and Exile by Chinua Achebe

For more information call 973-733-7793.
All programs are book discussions, unless otherwise noted.
Some of these books may be at other libraries and can be requested through our Interlibrary Services Department.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save