Frances E.W. Harper Literary Society 2017-2018 Programs

Frances E.W. Harper Literary Society of
The Newark Public Library

Celebrating 30 years at the Newark Public Library, since 1987

Dorothea M. Moore, Chairperson

2017-2018 Literary Schedule

Monthly meetings will be held on the First Wednesday of each month, unless otherwise noted, from September to June

James Brown African American Room, Main Library, 5 Washington Street

Saturday, September 9
12:00 noon – 1:00 pm
Opening registration in the James Brown African-American Room
Wednesday, September 20
6:30 pm
Film screening: You Are Not My Negro, the documentary film directed by Raoul Peck, based on James Baldwin’s unfinished manuscript, Remember This House
Wednesday, October 11
6:30 pm
Howard Street by Nathan Heard
Literary Forum
Wednesday, November 8
6:30 pm
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
Wednesday, December 6
6:30 pm
Notes of a Native Son by James Baldwin
January 2018
No Meeting Scheduled
Happy New Year!
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
6:30 pm
Celebrating Black History Month
Jubilee: The Emergence of African-American Culture by Howard Dodson, Jr.
Wednesday, March 7
6:30 pm
Celebrating Women’s History Month
program to be announced
Wednesday, April 4
6:30 pm
Celebrating National Poetry Month
Let’s Hear from the Poets
Wednesday, May 2
6:30 pm
God Help the Child by Toni Morrison
Wednesday, June 6
6:30 pm
Celebrating the Black Diaspora
Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue

For more information call 973-733-7793.
All programs are book discussions, unless otherwise noted.
Some of these books may be at other libraries and can be requested through our Interlibrary Services Department.

Save

Save