About the Library

The Newark Public Library

Facing Washington Park, the historic Newark Public Library traces its beginnings to the Newark Library Association, which was formed in 1847. Forty years later, the people of Newark approved the founding of a Free Public Library. Learn More about the Library’s History.

Want to Get Involved? Join the Friends of the Newark Public Library or volunteer in your local Branch Location.

 

 


Our Mission

To provide the people of Newark with opportunities to enrich their lives by connecting them with information resources and ideas that inform, enlighten, encourage, and delight!


Our Vision

The Library is the center of community life where people connect with ideas and with each other.


Contact

Newark Public Library
5 Washington Street
P.O. Box 630
Newark, NJ 07101-0630
(973) 733-7784


Partnerships

The Library is a proud partner of the Newark City of Learning Collaborative and the Urban Libraries Council.

 


Board of Trustees

Dr. Timothy J. Crist, President

Ms. Trish Morris-Yamba, Vice President

Mr. Thomas Alrutz, Treasurer

Dr. Anasa Maat, Secretary

Mr. Jeremy Johnson – Alternate for Ras J. Baraka, Mayor
Mr. De’Shawn Wright – Alternate for Mr. Christopher Cerf, State District Superintendent, Newark Public Schools
Mr. Charles Auffant
Ms. Sandra King
Dr. Rosemary Steinbaum


Library Board of Trustees 2017 Meeting Schedule

Wednesday, January 25, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, March 28, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, May 23, 5:00 pm
Wednesday, August 2, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, September 26, 5:00 pm
Tuesday, November 28, 5:00 pm

All meetings will be held at the Main Library, 5 Washington Street, Newark.

 

 


Library Director

Jeffrey

Jeffrey Trzeciak
(973) 733-7780 or
(973) 733-7758
director@npl.org

 

 

 


Leadership Team

Development
Nicole Butler
(973) 733-7735
nbutler@npl.org
Public Services
Heidi Cramer
(973) 733-7837
hcramer@npl.org
Planning, Facilities, Security, and Government Relations
George Wheatle Williams
(973) 733-5697 or 7793
gwilliams@npl.org
Human Resources
Leslie Colson
(973) 733-7740
lcolson@npl.org
Finance
Abha Sinho
(973) 733-3606
asinho@npl.org
Information Technology
Jorge Rodriguez
(973) 733-7796
jrodriguez@npl.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save